Piano Competition

The BMC Piano Competition is sponsored by the Zimmerli Foundation. This competition is open to any full-session piano student. Rules and registration information will be given out during the summer season.


Students compete with a solo program of their choice, lasting 30 to 40 minutes and containing repertoire chosen from at least three style periods. Repertoire must be approved by BMC piano faculty. Because of the format of the competition, potential competitors are encouraged to perform shorter works. Single movements from multi-movement works, e.g., sonatas, are allowed.

The competition occurs on campus in two rounds after arrival onto campus:

  • In the preliminary round competitors perform approximately 12 minutes. Competitors select the first piece; a judge may ask for any other piece from the competitor's repertoire list. The preliminary round is closed to the public.
  • In the final round, each finalist performs a twenty-minute program drawn from the competitor's repertoire list. Winners are announced at the end of the concert.


Winners will receive cash prizes between $500-3000. Should no finalist come from the High School division, the high school student who places highest in the preliminary round will receive a cash prize. Previous first prize winners are not eligible to enter again.

Past Winners


Yeeun Choi
Ching Man (Felicia) Chan
Suji Park
Terry Hsu
Will Lauricella
Judge: Derek Parsons


Jiajun "David" Lai
Matthew Krell
Lillian Feng
Jonathan Bass
Carlo Balmoria
Judge: Joanne Polk


James Berger
Austin Kwan
Megan Angriawan
Maxwell Hinton
Max Lin
Judge: Thomas Hecht


Yi-Yang Chen
Yifei Xu
Olivier Rabu
Boris Uzunov
Christopher Wright
Judge: Louis Goldstein


Colin McDearman
Yoshino Toi
Joana Gonzalez
Xuan He
Vikki Chen
Judge: Dmitri Shteinberg


Kevin Madison
Yehong Shi
Jacob Wang
Stefan Weiler
Shanshan Xie
Judge: Michael Chertock


Nathan Ryland (1st place tie)
Kathryn Westerlund (1st place tie)
David Yu
Yuet Ka Hui
Noah Sonderling
Judge: William Ransom


Ying Li
Nathan Ryland
David Yu
Ellen Pavliska
John Schindler
Judge: Dr. David Northington


Kunal Lahiry
Michael Lenahan
Dongni Xie
Pierre Desangles
Chi Zhang
Judge: Min Kwon


Sarah Chang
Tong Wang
Michael Lenahan
Corinne Penner
Conner Mautner
Judge: Roberta Rust


Vijay Venkatesh
Michael Lenahan
Joseph Kingma
Jonathan Keener
Hilary Lee
Judge: Evgeny Rivkin


Sam Gingher
Joseph Kingma
Peter Oehrtman
Curtis Smith
Jonathan Keener
Judge: Bradford Gowen